Welcome to the home of the Marin County Poet Laureate! After several years of Steering Committe labors, the program was launched in 2008 with the joint sponsorship of the Marin Arts Council, Marin Poetry Center and the Marin County Cultural Services Commission. Since that time, the Poet Laureate Program, through its selection and support of a distinguished local poet, has been actively promoting poetry in Marin County. In 2012 the Marin County Free Library System agreed to be an additional sponsoring organization for the program, and we are grateful for their support.

Please peruse this site for details about the current Poet Laureate and his/her work in the County. Information about the nomination and selection process is also available.

Mt. Tam Reflection

Photo: Joan Sadler

Poet Laureate 2015-2017
Prartho Sereno


Marin Poet Laureate Steering Committee Members:
Richard Brown, Chair
Calvin Ahlgren
Scott Bauer
Suella Kennedy-Fulmer

Terry Phelan
Suzie Pollack

Sponsoring Donors:
Melanie Maier
Terry Phelan

Past Poet Laureates:
Joe Zaccardi 2013 - 2015

'Lyn Follett 2010 - 2013
Albert Flynn DeSilver 2008 - 2010